How to Propagate Cordylines (Ti plants)

putu enjula

28/09/07
I bought one of these years ago and read the directions... so of course now I am an expert. :D

Attachments

• TiPlant.jpg
    TiPlant.jpg
    18.8 KB · Views: 10,573
I have tried different methods of propagation but I prefer their method because it seems to be the fastest way to get a plant growing.

First of course you mutilate some ti plants by cutting them... (of course the plant will grow right back).

Attachments

• IMGP6412.jpg
    IMGP6412.jpg
    203 KB · Views: 1,126
If I'm going chop down one of my plants, I want to get the most plants out of them!
First I cut off the tops and leave enough stalk to put in a vase.

IMGP6413.jpg

First I put the large one in a tub of water...

IMGP6414.jpg

Then I make a nice arrangement with the smaller ones so I can enjoy them while they sprout some roots!

IMGP6419.jpg

Last edited:
Then I cut the stalks into smaller "logs."

IMGP6421.jpg

Sometimes I simply put the logs upright in a jar... the water should be changed every few days...

IMGP6422.jpg

Or if I want to try to get the most number plants out of them, I lay them down in a tray. This method requires more maintenance because the water lever needs to consistently cover half of the logs, leaving the tops exposed to the air. When you change the water you should make sure the same side is turned up... keeping the same dry side up and the same wet side down.

IMGP6423.jpg

I got this tray from Costco, it is nice because there are grooves on the bottom that prevent them from rolling.

Here is a Princess Leisha I put in some water about a couple of weeks ago.

IMGP6424.jpg

Time for planting!

IMGP6426.jpg

Dean's prefered soil...

IMGP6427.jpg

When you pot up a cordyline it is always good to bury a lot of the stalk so it can grow even more roots for a strong root system.

IMGP6428.jpg

The newly potted Princess Leisha is pale from being indoors, soon it will look just like the one next to it...